Salted Caramel Shrotbread

ingredients:
for the shortbread layer:
10 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg yolk
1-2/3 cups flour

for the caramel:
1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup light brown sugar
3/4 cup light corn syrup
2 tsp sea salt, plus more for sprinkling on top
4 tbsp sugar
4 tbsp heavy cream
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract

directions:
Line an 8×8″ pan with parchment paper, leaving some hanging over the sides to make removal easier.

In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugar, and salt with a pastry cutter or fork. Add the egg yolk and continue mixing.

About cheftaylah

Hi my name is Taylah Rose Regulski. I love to find new recipes and try them, and I love to cook! Other interests besides cooking, and searching for recipes, include reading, and spending time with my animals. I put my own touches on recipes I discover, and they always end up tasting delicious! My blog consists of mainly recipes I found around the internet, and cooking shows, just food that I love, and food that is simple and easy to make. I adjust the recipes to my own personal taste, and either take out ingredients I don't like, or add in ingredients that I think will make the food taste better. HOPE YOU ENJOY!

Leave a comment